2023 Iowa Women of Achievement Awards Nominations Open

For Immediate Release
June 8, 2023

Contact: Amy Eaton, Director of Marketing & Strategic Development


DES MOINES, Iowa - Nominations are open for the 2023 Iowa Women of Achievement Awards presented by Women Lead Change. The award recognizes the contributions of historical Iowa women who made outstanding and lasting contributions to the citizens of Iowa, the nation, or the world. Nominations are due by July 31, 2023 at https://www.wlcglobal.org/awards/women-achievement.

Awards are presented annually and commemorated with plaques on the Iowa Women of Achievement Bridge in Des Moines. 2023 honorees will be recognized at a luncheon at the Women Lead Change Conference: Des Moines on Oct. 18, 2023, at the Iowa Events Center. GuideOne Insurance and Nationwide are sponsors of the Iowa Women of Achievement Awards.

Nominees should be historical (deceased) women who: were born in Iowa, achieved prominence within Iowa, or had been a resident of Iowa for an extended period. Nominations remain current for three years and may then be resubmitted if not previously selected. 

Nominees will be selected on merit in the following areas:

  • Lasting contributions made by the nominee

  • Nominee served as a role model or change agent

  • Impacted the social, cultural, economic or political well-being of the community, state or nation

  • Inspired future generations

Iowa Women of Achievement who are currently honored on the bridge include:

  • Mary J. Whitely Coggeshall (1836-1911)

  • Dr. Christine Grant (1936-2021)

  • Maria, Running Moccasins, Pearson (1932-2003)

  • LaMetta Wynn (1933-2021)

  • Barbara Lee Boatwright (1924-2012)

  • Sue M. Wilson Brown (1877-1941)

  • Carrie Chapman Catt (1859-1947)

  • Zada Mary Cooper (1875-1961)

  • Joy Cole Corning (1932-2017)

  • Theresa "Billee" Davis (1909-1979)

  • Willie Stevenson Glanton (1922-2017)

  • Lou Henry Hoover (1874-1944)

  • Ola Babcock Miller (1871-1937)

  • Louise Rosenfield Noun (1908-2002)

  • Sister Bernadine Pieper, CHM (1918-2000)

  • Gertrude Elzora Durden Rush (1880-1962)

  • Jessie Field Shambaugh (1881-1971)

IWLC d/b/a Women Lead Change is a non-partisan, 501(c)(3) non-profit dedicated to the development, advancement, and promotion of women, their organizations, and to impacting the economy and future workforce. For more information visit www.WLCglobal.org


Share this article

Back to Blog

Sign up for Insights!

Subscribe to our email list and stay updated on everything Women Lead Change.

Enewsletter Sign up
A group of hands all in for unity

Become a Sponsor

Corporate support spurs gender equity. Professional development for your teams.

Learn More


Sign up for Insights

Get our latest leadership development and insights delivered to your inbox.