Christine Grant receives 2012 IWLC Founders' Award

May 31, 2012

Please add your bio info through your member profile page, or through your dashboard.

The 2012 IWLC Founders' Award recipient is Christine Grant.

Christine Grant is a former athlete and athletic director at the University of Iowa. She was inducted into the University of Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame in 2006. 

Grant is best known for her fight for gender equity in athletics. She testified before Congress several times and served as a consultant for the Civil Rights Title IX Task Force. She was a founding member of the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women and served in a variety of leadership roles with that organization. She also has held several positions with the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators (NACWAA), including the presidency from 1987-89. Grant has spoken and published widely and has held numerous leadership positions as an advocate of gender equity in sports. She served as the president of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) from 1980 to 1981. She received numerous awards and honors, including the prestigious Billie Jean King Award presented by the Women’s Sports Foundation, two honorary doctorates, and induction into the University of Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame and the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame. 

In 2007, she became the fourth recipient of the NCAA President's Gerald R. Ford Award. The Gerald R. Ford Award, named in recognition of former President Gerald Ford, honors individuals who have provided significant leadership as an advocate for intercollegiate athletics on a continuous basis over the course of his or her career. That same year she was named one of the most 100 influential sports educators in America by the Institute of International Sport. 



Category: News